Alabama State Board of Chiropractic Examiners Certified Adopted Rule

Rule 190-X-7-.02 Extern.

- (1) Extern. A student enrolled in their last year at a Board approved chiropractic college accredited by the Council of Chiropractic Education or a recent chiropractic graduate of such an accredited school who is issued a limited license to practice under the direct on-premises supervision of a sponsor licensed to practice chiropractic in the state of Alabama and in the case of a student, under the supervision of the accredited school.
- (2) Qualifications. In order to receive a permit as an Extern the following applies:
 - (a) Student
- 1. In addition to the requirements imposed in Code of Alabama 1975 \$34-24-145, the following qualifications must be met:
 - (i) Currently enrolled in the final academic year at an approved chiropractic college which maintains a standard of training acceptable to the Board.
 - (ii) Documentation of successfully completing the written examination Parts I and II of the National Board of Chiropractic Examination.
 - (iii) Provide evidence of malpractice insurance coverage.
 - (b) Graduate
- 1. In addition to the requirements imposed in Code of Alabama 1975 \$34-24-145, the following qualifications must be met:
 - (i) Graduated within six (6) months preceding the filing of an application from an approved chiropractic college maintaining a standard of training acceptable to the Board and not yet licensed in any other state.
 - (ii) Documentation of successfully passing Parts I, II and III of the National Board of Chiropractic Examination.
 - (iii) Successfully passing Part IV of the National Board of Chiropractic Examination within twelve
 - (12) months following the date of graduation.
 - (iv) Provide evidence of malpractice insurance coverage.
- (c) Any student or graduate must submit an application which shall include a provision that in executing the

Alabama State Board of Chiropractic Examiners Certified Adopted Rule

application the applicant agrees to comply with the provisions of the Alabama Chiropractic Practice Act and all the Rules adopted by the Board. In addition, a student, in order to be approved, must have submitted a current and complete licensure application, including any fee and documentation, required by all student applicants for licensure.

- 1. For purpose of this rule the following meanings shall apply.
- (i) Tier I applicants are those whose results from any required background checks have not yet been received. Tier I applicants are not allowed to adjust, or make any diagnosis or treatment directly with the patient. Tier I externs can perform same services as a chiropractic assistant as long as under the direct supervision of the preceptor doctor and may observe the preceptor doctors treatment of patients.
- (ii) Tier II applicants are those who have successfully complied with all requirements set out in this rule. Tier II applicants should be able to have full patient treatment privileges as long as under the direct supervision of the preceptor doctor. A student who graduates is no longer eligible to possess a permit to participate in the preceptorship program unless at the time of graduation the requirements of Part IV of the National Board of Chiropractors Examination have not been satisfied. In that event, participation in the preceptor program may continue for no longer than twelve (12) months following the date of graduation.
- (d) Anyone approved as an extern shall only deliver chiropractic services under the direct on-premises supervision of an approved preceptor. The chiropractic services delivered are those specified in the Alabama Chiropractic Practice Act or in any Rule adopted by the Board.

Effective: 3-6-90, amended 2/93, (2)(d) amended 3/94, (1)(c) and (3)(a) amended 11/97, (1)(c) amended 2/2000, (1)(b)(c)(d)

and (2)(b)(d)(e) amended 8/2001, (1)(b)(2)(b), amended 3/2009, amended 6/2010(2)(b), amended 1/2011(2)(b), amended 3/2013, amended 6/2018

Authority: 34-24-145; 34-24-165

Author: Board of Chiropractic Examiners

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, \$\$34-24-145, 34-24-165.

History: Filed February 16, 1984. Amended: Filed February 23, 1987; January 29, 1990; December 18, 1992. Amended: Filed March 22, 1994; effective April 26, 1994. Amended: Filed November 25, 1997; effective December 30, 1997. Amended: Filed June 12, 2000; effective July 17, 2000. Amended: Filed December 13, 2001;

Alabama State Board of Chiropractic Examiners Certified Adopted Rule

effective January 17, 2002. Amended: Filed June 13, 2008; effective July 18, 2008. Amended: Filed June 18, 2009; effective July 23, 2009. Amended: Filed June 21, 2010; effective July 26, 2010. Amended: Filed April 13, 2010; effective May 18, 2010. Amended: Filed June 1, 2011; effective July 6, 2011. Amended: Filed ; effective August 8, 2013 Amended: Filed April 17, 2018; effective August 3, 2018 Amended September 16, 2020, effective February 14, 2021.